Kickaholics, Foran Against light up Taringa Summer Season

Taringa Summer Season Champions - Kickaholics

In a summer season riddled with wet weather delays, multiple covid lockdowns and field maintenance, it was important to end on a high. And we certainly did!

The reigning division one mixed champions Kickaholics Anonymous stamped their authority on the competition delivering a 7-0 defeat to Chickens Reborn.

But the gap is closing.

Last summer, the two teams met in the grand final with Kickaholics running out 14-0 victors.

Second time round, it was much tighter tussle with Chickens Reborn understanding the challenges of grand final footy.

Boasting two Representative stars in Connor Wright and captain Louie Garrone, the two combined well with their team.

Their all-round skill set and speed helped their team produce six line breaks – one short of Kickaholics.

The clear difference was execution and some quality scrambling defence by Kickaholics. On numerous occasions, they had to defend their line in broken play sequences and held each time.

Taringa Summer Season Finalists - Chickens Reborn.
Not to be outdone was the defence of Chickens Reborn.

Best and Fairest Aubrey Cromwell set a strong stardard in the middle with half a dozen crucial touches, two of which were definite try savers.

Team mate Christina Garrone was equally effective in defence as she patrolled the sidelines.

On the other side of the ball, Mason Hasselmeyer and Eliza Mooney held together a strong middle-third and which often pushed their opponent wide.

In a hotly contested match, it was a couple of unlikely heads that broke the game open.

A long-range try to Kickaholics’ captain David Sercombe got his side’s first points, while an early double to Justin Noonan sealed a pleasing first half.

The second half returned to script with Queensland Rep speedster Trent Gossner zipping down the sideline to push the lead to 4-0.

As the game began to break up and errors crept into the play from the Chickens’ middles, leading try scorer Corey Pocock switched the momentum with a try of his own.

Girls try leader Eliza Mooney blew the lead out to 7-0 just moments from full team as she crossed the white stripe.

Well done to summer champions Kickaholics Anonymous.

Kickaholics (7): Justin Noonan (2), David Sercombe, Trent Gossner, Corey Pocock, Eliza Mooney
Chickens Reborn:
Player of the Match: Mason Hasselmeyer
Best and Fairest: Aubrey Cromwell.

Taringa Summer Season Div 2 Champions - Foran Against

Experienced division 2 finalists Dugongs and Foran Against faced off in what was a high scoring affair.

A massive 19 tries were scored as each team kept the ball in play and capitalised on field position.

Both teams entered into Kick It in 2009 and 2010 respectively and have cracked the big one on multiple occasions.

This one was a battle of skill, whit and determination as the old-heads went at it – all be it with a few fresh faces.

Dugongs’ Tim Mitchell got his side on the board first as he crossed down the left edge of Foran Against.

Backing up in her second final, Eliza Mooney replied swiftly with a dummy and line break through the middle to give Foran Against the lead.

Two possessions later, ‘Gongs’ captain Dave Shaw pounced on a grubber to level the scores at 2-2 inside six minutes.

Next we saw an avalanche of tries from the two Dan’s in Foran Against.

Player of the match Dan Pezet made a clean line break to scooted down the right touch line to score before Daniel Westermann jumped on a knock on by Dugongs in their own in-goal.

The onslaught was nixed when experienced Dugongs figure Lachlan Cuffe slid in to bring the scores to within one point.

The Dans would have the final say as the pair ran in another try each to bust open the game in the second quarter.

Dan Peret was the beneficiary of a Christian Kerezteny cross kick into the middle of the field, while Westermann latched onto a grubber of his own to push the lead to 6-3.

Kerezteny would get one of his own with a dubious put-down centimetres before the dead ball line.

New South Wales mens representative Beau Jameson gave Dugongs some hope with a try on the stroke of halftime to bring the scores to 7-4.

Taringa Summer Season Finalists - Dugongs

With neither team struggling to move the ball and push into their opponents red zone, the heavy ruckers started to come into the game.

A ruck and split from Eddie Wishwa to Tigers’ representative Jarad Neinert notched up Foran Against’s first points of the half.

A crucial error off the ensuing kick-off gifted Foran Against  key field position.

Three touches into the set, Eliza Mooney sent Dan Pezet over for his third as the duo took advantage of a 3-on-2 overlap.

In a night for hat-tricks, Westermann nabbed his third off a ricocheted kick as Foran Against reached 10 points in quick time.

The rot stopped momentarily with Beau Jameson grubbering from long distance to get Dugongs back on the scoring sheet.

The formula was there for Dugongs with a momentum building set of rucking by prominent middle Terence Hill and Jameson.

Unfortunately, the pair of Eddie Wishwa and Neinert would rear their heads again, this time through Wishwa who scooped up a grubber to score.

Kereszteny produced a trademark show and go to cross for his second.

The former Tigers representative would notch up his second try assist, this time with a kick for Eddie Wishwa to swallow in the in-goal,

Wisha would also tally his second try assist moments from full time as he kicked for Neinert to cross for his second try.

Tim Mitchell nabbed a late consolation try as time ran out.

Congratulations to Foran Against on taking out the 2021 Summer season at Taringa.

Foran Against (15): Dan Pezet (3), Daniel Westermann (3), Christian Kereszteny (2), Jarad Neinert (2), Eddie Wishwa (2), Eliza Mooney.
Dugongs (6): Beau Jameson (2), Tim Mitchell (2), Dave Shaw, Lachlan Cuffe.
Player of the match: Dan Pezet

A special thanks to our grand final sponsors Paddo Tavern, Newstead Remedial Massage and Grill’d Indooroopilly & Toowong.

Winter season at Taringa kicks-off Tuesday, June 1st. Registrations are now open

Kick It State of Origin will take place June 23rd at Carseldine. It’s State against State as Queensland look to extend their winning streak against an improved Blues outfit.

See what the players think of the Origin concept.
Summer grand final night cornerpost highlights

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.